About the Newton Police Department

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Since 1872, the Newton Police Department has served the citizens of Newton. Today, the Newton Police Department consists of 38 full-time commissioned officers, 5 civilian employees and part-time crossing guards. We provide services to a population of approximately 19,000 people within the 11 square miles of Newton.

Mission of the Department

Our mission is to work in partnership with the community to provide prompt, professional police services that place an emphasis on enhancing the quality of life, while maintaining respect for individual rights and human dignity, building confidence and respect between the Citizens of Newton and their Police Department.

Our Location

The Newton Police Department is located at 120 E 7 St, Newton, KS 67114, in the Harvey County Law Enforcement Center. The other agencies in the Law Enforcement Center are the Harvey County Sheriff's Department, Harvey County Emergency Communications, and Harvey County Emergency Management.

Department Organization

Chief of Police, Deputy Chief

Operations Division
Lieutenant, 4 Sergeants, 5 Corporals, 14 Patrol Officers and a Warrant/Bailiff Officer.

Investigations Division
Lieutenant, 4 General Detectives, Domestic Violence Detective, and 2 Drug Detectives

Support Services Division
Lieutenant, 3 School Resource Officers, and Animal Control Officer

Records Division
Office Manager, 2 Records Clerks, Parking Control Officer and 5 Crossing Guards