Newton is served by five at-large City Commissioners. City elections take place in the fall of odd-numbered years. The top two vote-getters are elected to four-year terms, and the third-place vote-getter serves a two-year term.

A mayor is appointed each year from within the Commission. Traditionally, the highest vote-getter in the last election is appointed vice mayor and becomes mayor the following year.

The mayor is recognized as the head of City government for ceremonial purposes. The mayor conducts Commission meetings and executes contracts, deeds and agreements on behalf of the City, but has no additional authority or voting powers. The vice mayor generally fulfills this role when the mayor is not available.

Commission members

Kathy Valentine






Mayor Kathy Valentine
Patient Account Representative, Anesthesia Billing Inc.

Leroy Koehn






Vice Mayor Leroy Koehn
Owner, Koehn Painting Co. 

Glen Davis
Commissioner Glen L. Davis 

Owner, Davis Pest Control

 Barth Hague

Commissioner Barth Hague
President and CEO, Mirror Inc.

Rod Kreie







Commissioner Rod Kreie
Managing Member, Great Plains Biosciences Group

Past President, Newton Area Chamber of Commerce