Seat Belt / Child Seat Safety

Print

Seat belt laws have been passed over the years to increase the safety and survivability of vehicle occupants during traffic accidents. Kansas has seat belt laws that cover all ages of vehicle occupants.

Throughout the year, the Newton Police Department participates in the Kansas Click it. Or ticket. and the DRUNK DRIVING - OVER THE LIMIT. UNDER ARREST. programs to help reinforce traffic safety laws. For more information, see the Traffic Enforcement page.

Kansas Seat Belt Laws

Adult Seat Belts (K.S.A. 8-2503)

  • All adults in a car can be cited for not wearing a safety belt. This now includes adults in the back seats.
  • Vehicles may be stopped solely for the failure of a front seat occupant to wear a safety belt.
  • Vehicles may not be stopped solely for the failure of a back seat occupant to wear a safety belt.
  • Drivers may be cited at the scene of an accident absent another violation.
  • Passengers must be cited separately from the driver.
  • The fine is $10. 

Juveniles 14-17 (K.S.A. 8-2503(b))

  • Juveniles aged 14 to 17 years old must be protected by a safety belt regardless of where they are sitting in the vehicle.
  • Vehicles may be pulled over solely for violations of this law.
  • Passengers may be cited separately from the driver.
  • The fine is $60.

Juveniles 8-13 (K.S.A. 8-1344)

  • Juveniles aged 8 to 13 years old must be protected by a safety belt.
  • Juveniles under age 14 are prohibited from riding in any portion of the vehicle not intended for passengers including the back of pickup trucks.
  • Vehicles may be pulled over solely for violations of this law.
  • Only the driver may be cited for violations.
  • The fine is $60 plus court costs.

Child Safety Seats/Booster Seats (K.S.A. 8-1344)

  • All children under the age of 4 years old must be in an appropriate child passenger safety restraining system that meets or exceeds the standards and specifications contained in federal motor vehicle safety standard 213.
  • All children at least 4 years of age, but under the age of 8 years who weigh less than 80 pounds or are less than 4 feet 9 inches in height must be in an appropriate child passenger safety restraining system that meets or exceeds the standards and specifications contained in federal motor vehicle safety standard 213.
  • Vehicles may be pulled over solely for violations of this law.
  • The driver of the vehicle may be cited for violations.
  • The fine is $60 plus court costs.

Child Safety Seat Recalls

Occasionally, child safety seats are recalled by the manufacturer or the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA). A current list of recalled child safety seats is available from the Office of Defects Investigation.

 

OPR Button