Important Update:

City facilities are closed in response to the coronavirus, but essential services will continue. More...


Newton Police Chiefs/City Marshals

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

This list was obtained from various sources and is believed to be complete.  Some of the years of service overlap due to the different sources listing different names or dates for the chiefs/marshals.  The different sources have differing numbers of chiefs/marshals, so all persons found designated as the chief/marshal, according to the various sources, are included in this list.  The sources used were newspaper clips from the Newton Kansan and various collections of information compiled about the City of Newton found in the Newton Police Department history books and archives.

*The officers listed in 1871 were appointed as the "Night Policeman" prior to the City of Newton being incorporated.  William S. Brooks was the first official City Marshal.

Arthur Delaney aka 1871
Mike McCluskie*  
Tom Carson* 1871
Carlos King* 1871
William S. Brooks 1872
A. Maxwell 1872
E.S. Sophaur 1872
Jack R Johnson 1872-1873
David Rasune 1873
B.A. Satterlee 1874
S.D. Wilcox 1875-1877
J.M. Cunningham 1877
M.H. Lakin 1877
A. Pratt 1878
Henry Mayer 1878-1882
L.E. Williams 1881
W.L. Sawyer aka 1882-1883
M.S. Sawyer  
Henry Mayer 1883-1885
Edward "Ed" Marks 1885-1892
A.L. Miller 1892-1894
J.H. Nowry 1894
J.A. Carlisle 1894
A.R. Ainsworth 1894-1895
G.H. Walker 1896
John A. Cummings 1896-1902
A.R. Ainsworth 1902-1905
D.N. Garten 1905-1909
John A. Cummings 1909-1912
Martin Ballou 1912-1914
Howard Puckett 1915-1916
J. William Brown 1916-1929
J.R. Snyder 1929-1931
J.R. Rickerd 1931
R.D. McGinnis 1931-1938
E. Alden Mathews 1938-1942
C.H. Sherman 1942-1953
C.E. Patterson 1953-1973
P.E. Hastings 1973-1979
D.I. Kelsch 1979-1985
William C. Smith 1985-1989
Ronald G. Jackson 1989-2001
Jim Daily 2001-2015
Eric Murphy 2015-2019
Craig Dunlavy  2019-